Paper Chandelier

I managed to get the bulk of my Christmas shopping finished in October and November, leaving me some free time this month to finally tackle some projects that have been on my Make board for quite a while. One of them was an idea I had for a chandelier-type, mobile-like paper thing to hang over the dining room table.  I loved these colorful versions, but I wanted translucent white and I wanted it to be round.  Kind of like this one.

I had a giant stack of translucent vellum left from my days as a paper hoarder, so I got to work cutting out many, many circles.  I used two different sizes of circles, one I traced from a 1-ounce plastic container and the other I traced the lid to a sugar bowl. Fancy!  Then, with opalescent white thread, I ran the circles through the sewing machine in random patterns of five large and three small (to keep the length of the strings consistent).  I tied all of the finished those strings onto a brass hoop from Jo-Ann’s that I painted silver, and…voila!

I love it, and I can’t believe I finally made it after thinking about it for so long. Next up, I’m brainstorming ways to hang a solar light inside it so I can get it to glow without stringing lights in it.

3 Comments

  1. Tell me you didn’t cut all those circles with a pair of scissors. I’m hoping you at least cheated and used scrapbook supplies. It looks great. You have the patience of a saint.

    Reply

    1. I cut each and every one by hand! My sister was horrified, too. I gave her all of my old scrapbook tools and didn’t want to wait to borrow back the circle cutter. It wasn’t bad. I cut them in stacks of four or so.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

