Here and There

From the rose garden at Elizabeth Park. I forgot to tell you about that trip last month.

It’s time for me to tie up some loose ends, isn’t it?  You’ve been wondering about things, I know you have.  Here’s a quick list of updates:

Operation: Chick (Phase 1)
Status: FAIL

Sadly, none of the eggs that Mama Hen was sitting on actually hatched. Nature, being what it is—which, frankly, is heartbreaking—most of the eggs were broken over the course of the month she sat on them, either by accident with Mama Hen moving around a lot, or as a survival-of-the-fittest measure by some of the other hens. My guess is that one hen, in particular, was breaking the eggs when Mama would take her occasional, frantic breaks to run around the yard and get some sun and a quick dust bath.  She was often seen squawking and squabbling with Mama, which leads me to believe she was the egg-breaker.  We had one particularly devastating broken egg incident when I found a fully-developed chick in a broken egg, just days from when he would have hatched. So sad. But! We are going to try again. Dedicated hen that she is, Mama is still sitting on the unfertilized eggs each day, so we have a plan to give her a new clutch of fertilized eggs and her very own private nursery in the form of a portable dog kennel, where she can sit on her eggs in peace without the other dummies sitting on her and laying their eggs in her nest.  Operation: Chick (Phase 2) might start this weekend if we can find the time to drive out and pick up more fertilized eggs.  Stay tuned!

Image via Pinterest

Pinterest

After several months of trying to figure out what the heck Pinterest was and why one would use it, I decided to join (for free) and try it out.  I have to say that I love it a lot.  Think of it as a place to save your bookmarked pages and ideas in one, beautiful, visual place.  For example I keep one “board” of things I want to make and one of things I want to eat.  Pinterest lets me refer back and see a photo of what it was that I wanted to make (or eat) and remember why I was excited about it in the first place.  Even better, if you have friends or know bloggers who are on Pinterest or have great ideas that you love to keep track of, you can follow them on Pinterest and see what they’re “pinning” on a daily basis.  This has given me many, many great ideas for crafts and for me, I feel more inspired looking at photos than link titles in my bookmarks folder.  Check it out, it’s addictive and it’s free to join.  You can either request an invitation, or let me know and I can send you an invitation.

Image via Pinterest

Summer Vacations

Luke and I took off for a long weekend at the Cape over the 4th of July. I’ll have more to tell you about that trip as soon as I upload all of my pictures, but I can tell you right now that it was wonderful.  Luke’s work schedule has been so crazy that I really haven’t seen him for a span of more than one day in about two months.  He’s been working crazy hours and Saturday nights and it’s really just, plain sucked.  This trip was three straight nights of getting away, no work, no house obligations, just relaxing and having fun with friends.  And I miss it so much.  So does Luke, who worked twelve hours last night.  At the end of the month we have another vacation planned for the Lakehouse in Maine.  Nothing but fishing and relaxing and reading and we can’t wait.  Then after that trip, I’m leaving for another part of Maine for a getaway with my mom, my sister, and her boys.  That should be fun!  I’ve been stocking up on my summer reading books and have, at last count, 14 books to enjoy.

Image via Pinterest

My Recent Addiction

Is there such a thing as compulsive nail-painting disorder? I may have it. Luke’s previously-mentioned crazy schedule leaves me with a lot of free time on my hands and browsing around Pinterest gives me so many great ideas for different nail treatments I want to try.  First I fell in love with this neutral look, then this awesome matte/shiny black manicure caught my eye.  Right now my nails look like this, but this feather manicure (above) is coming next. Or maybe I’ll try out one of these marbled looks, or maybe this blue/gold one… It’s an obsession, I tell you.

OK, I think that just about sums up what you’ve missed and what’s been going on.  As soon as I stop painting my nails for five minutes, I’ll upload my Cape Cod pictures and tell you all about that trip, I promise.

One Comment

  1. I read this last night and still haven’t recovered from the sad baby chicken story 😦 Now I have to go and investigate Pinterest . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

