Reverb 10: Beautifully Different

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

Can I just start with a big ‘ol “UGH”.  Seriously, you’re going to make me brag about myself?  OK, you asked for it.

The biggest thing that I believe makes me different is the same irritating thing that drives me to distraction and makes my husband crazy when we’re out in public.  I notice the details.  All of the details.  Little details from your pictures hanging crooked to the subtle clues you’re giving off telling me that you’re unhappy or uncomfortable.  Sometimes this makes me that crazy lady straightening the coffee display at Starbucks while she waits for her latte, but mostly I try to use my super detail-noticing powers for good.

I remember when you mention that you like peonies and the color purple. I see that you keep shifting your eyes toward the stereo, silently telling me that the music is too loud.  I remember when you mention that you want someone to send you and Edible Arrangement someday.  I notice when you’re trying to be discreet about not eating something I served and try to offer you something else instead.  Basically, I try to be a kind and supportive friend/sister/daughter/coworker by noticing what makes you beautifully different.

But I also straighten the bottles of soap and hand lotion on your bathroom counter because that really drives me crazy.

So what do you think?  Do my powers of noticing “light you up”?

2 Comments

  1. OMG, now I’m worried you’re going to be noticing how messy my house is and want to straighten everything when you come over on Sat! And to that I say – you’re welcome to it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

