Reverb 10: Community

December 7: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

I know that I sound like I’m mocking Reverb 10, but please understand that I am not. I’m just not typically the inner-gaze, reflecting-on-the-magic-of-my-year type of person. I am trying my best to respond to the prompts honestly, but sometimes it’s just not a subject that I can (or want) to talk about.  For instance, today…

I can’t say that I have discovered any sort of community in 2010, but in all honesty, I haven’t been looking. I tend to be a loner; groups scare me, they make me feel inferior and so very uncool.  I’m sure this is some sort of high school insecurity that I should work through, but honestly, I enjoy my company so I’m not in a hurry to change everything and start joining groups anytime soon.

Facebook is the largest group that I’m a part of and even Facebook gives me the hives.  Worrying about joining a virtual online community of former classmates and somewhat friends who I haven’t connected with in nearly 13 years makes me anxious, so why would I try to join a group where people can look me in the face and turn me down? (Clearly I need medication.)

Despite that, the is one community that I do want to be a part of, and that is hoopers.  Hula hoopers.  I’ve written about my love for hula hoops before, and Santa-willing, I might actually get an adult-sized hula hoop under (around?) the Christmas tree this year.  But I’ll be hooping alone in my house.  I’ll join the hooping community in my mind because truly, I prefer it that way.

Check out this video from hooping.org.  I’ll be like this guy hooping out on the streets alone (minus the stipping down to my undies – although that’s impressive skill to be able to walk, dance, hoop, and take off a pair of pants at the same time).

So how about you?  Join any communities this year?  Have any to recommend to an anxiety-prone shut-in with a love for hula hoops?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

