Reverb 10 Roundup: Moment/Wonder/Let Go/Make

This post is from the Reverb 10 series, you can learn more about it and why I’m participating by reading this post.

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

(sigh…) Not to sound cynical, but I feel alive every day.  I can’t point to a time I felt more or less “alive”.  Can I say “at peace” instead?  Looking through my Flickr pictures (which is really the only way I can remember my year at all) I think I felt most at peace on the early morning in April that Luke and I woke up at the Union Bluff Hotel in Maine, grabbed cups of coffee and our warm clothes, and went for a walk on York Beach while the sun came up.  It was cold and crisp and the wind was blowing in off the ocean. My feet were freezing and our coffees got cold quickly, but the view was amazing.  Except for a passing local or two, we were alone on the beach and it was just glorious.  Here’s the picture.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

I don’t want to be a Reverb 10 downer, but I can’t answer a question like this.  The motivational, self-help speak makes my skin crawl. The word “wonder” goes into the allergy category along with “manifest”.  I’m sorry.

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

I let go of this blog once or three times.  There were several times this year when the internet felt like a very judgmental, unkind place and I wasn’t interested in sharing my life and investing my time in something that wasn’t making me feel very good about the world.  I’m still not sure I feel like sharing to the extent that I used to, as can be seen in these somewhat pathetic answers to the Reverb 10 questions, but I’m trying.

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

Hahahaha…I’m sorry, this is funny to me because I’ve been making around the clock in preparation for last weekend’s Holiday Sale.  I’ve been making instead of sleeping (hence the crazy-laughing).  I can tell you exactly, that the last thing I made was a tiny tissue pack cover made with camouflage fabric and I finished sewing it at 1:40am on Saturday.  There are a few things that I want to make for Christmas presents this year and I was just waiting for the holiday sale to be over with in order to make them.  I’d tell you about them but then I might ruin the surprise.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

