OK, fine.

This would be Amanda’s fault.  She’s been badgering me to blog more and she’s been all joiny and show-offy lately, just having completed NaBloPoMo, and now starting Reverb 10.  Since I want to be cool like Amanda (who doesn’t?) I decided to throw my hat into the Reverb 10 game, too.  (Is that even a proper idiom? I think I’m mixing my sayings. Oh well, we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.)

So…dum da da duuuummm!  I am joining Reverb 10.  (Although I’m allergic to the word “manifest”) the goal of Reverb 10 is, “…to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead. With Reverb 10, we’ll do both.”  Each day a new prompt is posted on the Reverb 10 site, a subject to blog about, tweet, or otherwise respond to.  I will do my best to respond to them all, and since I missed yesterday, I’ll do double duty today.

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

2010’s word would be CHANGE.  Holy smokes did everything change in 2010 – and not just for me, but for everyone I know.  My job changed immensely, Luke’s job changed back to 3rd shift, and then back to whatever you call the crazy shift he’s on now.  My sister had to buy two new cars, we bought two motorcycles and two quads (then sold one quad), I got chickens, several friends lost their jobs, I pierced my nose, other friends had new babies, and so many other minute, little changes happened that all added up to a giant shift in everything.  It’s been a weird, slightly uncomfortable year, trying to get used to all of the change, but so far, so good.

I would like for 2011’s word to be HAPPINESS.  Not the sappy, vapid, greeting card happy.  The big, contented sigh happy.  I’d like to be happy with where I am, with how things are, with the way I look, with what I do, and with the things I have.  I want to stop fighting for more and just be happy with this.  This is enough.

December 2 Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

Can I cop out and just say “not writing”?  Honestly, I’m not trying to be a writer or improve my writing and I write so much at work with the press releases and grant proposals and Facebook posts and Twitter updates that I’m all worded out most days.  Sadly, no, I cannot eliminate this, but I suppose that Reverb 10 will encourage (or force) me to write more for and about me, so I suppose that’s good.

So there you go – days one and two.  Check back for more, and consider joining Reverb 10 yourself.  Are you happy now, AMANDA?

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

