Buy Handmade!

I’m breaking my blog silence for a very important announcement: you must come to Eastford this weekend to buy handmade!

That’s right, this weekend, Saturday and Sunday from 10am-4pm, I’ll be participating in the Green Valley Arts Local Artists Holiday Sale at the Charlie Brown Campground in Eastford, CT.  Some of you reading this might think that Eastford sounds far, far away, and it sort of is, but it’s beautiful and an easy ride and so worth it to get a start on your holiday shopping by supporting local Connecticut artists.  Also: FREE REFRESHMENTS.  And if you’ve ever been lucky enough to be on the receiving end of my aunt Gail’s chocolate peanut butter squares…let me just say, I’ll be making those to share. You won’t want to miss that.

So what are you waiting for?  Go write it down on your calendar right now!  Saturday and Sunday December 4th and 5th, 10am-4pm both days.  The Campground is on route 198 (Chaplin Road) which is right off of route 44 – super easy to find.

Now that I have you convinced, let me tell you what you’ll see there.  There will be eleven artists in all including:

Paula Apro – fused glass & beaded jewelry, digital art photography
Bags by Lynn – purses and tote bags, holiday ornaments (Saturday Only)
Ashley Flagg – Hand spun yarns for knitters, crocheters and weavers, as well as handmade fiber art batts for spinners and felters (Sunday Only)
Lisa Gaumond – funky jewelry, handmade bags and purses
KK Custom Designs – custom interior and exterior signs & letters
Ashleigh Kay – fine art note cards, calendars & journals, printmaking, paintings & ink drawings
Dan Merlo – woodworking, cutting boards, shelves
Jill Merlo – nature and landscape photography
Kathy Pelkey – fine art prints & collages and handmade pillows (Sunday Only)
Alice Porter-Flagg – handmade aluminum bracelets & earrings,shadow boxes with costume jewelry creations (Sunday Only)
Amy Zera – handmade gift bags, meditation cushions and holiday stockings

I’m super excited about the handspun yarns and the aluminum jewelry, and, who am I kidding? I can’t wait to see all of it!  I bought a cutting board from Dan Merlo over the summer at one of the open studio events and I have to tell you, it’s my favorite thing in the kitchen right now.

So anyhow, please come, support local crafters and BUY HANDMADE!

Leave a Reply

