Cooped Up

There are a million and one reasons that I haven’t updated in a long, long time, most having to do with me being too lazy, but I do have one good reason for being too busy to blog.  We were taking this:

Turning it into this:

And filling it with these:

That’s right, WE HAVE CHICKENS! It only took about ten years for me to wear Luke down enough so he’d agree to get them.  Someone else who lives here thinks they’re pretty exciting, too:

She lays under the coop and stares into the pen at them.  It’s very cute, if not slightly annoying.  She also circles the coop when they’re inside and tries to peek in the windows. She wants so desperately to play with them.

And by “them” I mean our six new baby girls.  They’re all about 13-weeks old now, a mix of breeds (Ameraucana and Orpington, from what I can tell), and they’re cute as could be.

They’re still babies so we’ve had to teach them to climb a ramp and go in the coop for the night (their other home had them in cages, not coops).  We’ll go out to put them in for the night and they’ll be sleeping in a little chicken heap outside.  It’s very sweet.  Teaching them to sleep on roosts will be next. About four weeks from now the real excitement begins – they should start laying eggs. I can’t wait.  I think I’m almost as excited as Molly.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

