Placemat Pillowcases

IMG_0158

My sister recently got new living room furniture and I had this idea that I wanted to give her the perfect patterned pillows as the best new couch-warming present ever.

I wanted a good quality fabric with a fun pattern and I know she likes circles and dots, but none of the fabrics I came across were just right.  Disappointed, I left the fabric store and went to Pier 1 for a completely unrelated reason (to buy myself something shiny) and a spotlight shone down, angels sang and these placemats fell off the shelf and onto my feet.  They were, and are, perfect.  Also on sale.

Why did I not think of this before?  Placemats are essentially pillowcases sewn shut.  All I did was cut off the stitching around the edges, trimmed them to size, sewed them back together, and voila!  The most perfect pillows for my sister’s new living room.  Just don’t tell her — I’m giving them to her tonight.

2 Comments

  1. Holy smokes I LOVE them. I wish you were my sister!!!! And how are you so sure that yours is not reading your blog? Let me know what her reaction is. And now I have to schedule time to go to Pier 1. I love that store. There must be something in there that I ‘need.’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

