Done.

You may have been aware (from my near constant whining) that I was putting together a gigantic project at work: a week-long lecture and panel discussion symposium leading up to a giant exhibition and artist and fancy people-filled opening reception.  This project — I was told after I was five weeks of 10-hour days into it — has been organized in the past by the person in my position and a part time assistant hired for the project.  OH THANK YOU.  After most of the work has been done and everything has been set into motion, I’m told that I should have hired some help.

Anyhow… lots of work, lots of stress and long days, and I left in the middle for a week-long vacation to St. Martin which was incredibly difficult but so completely necessary.  I have been dreading and looking forward to the opening for so long and this past Friday it happened.  Oh boy did it happen.  Record-breaking crowds, many happy faces, and it all went off without a hitch.  I worked from 8:30am to 10:30 pm on Friday and by the time I got home my feet were so sore, I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to walk ever again.  I was able to take a couple of days off to rest and recuperate, and I’m wondering what will fill my every waking second of thought now that the opening is over.  What did I do before this exhibition came into my life?  What was it like to actually have a lunch break?  I don’t remember, but I look forward to trying it out again.

4 Comments

  1. Weellll…you could read the book you’re supposed to read for book club! That’s an idea! : )

    I totally understand about being crazed at work. I’m in a zone right now for the next couple of months that has every chance of driving me out of my flippin’ mind.

    Reply

  2. Paula- I wish you had been logged in as Karlo, that would have made my week! They’re super comfy shoes, I love them. I got them at Marshall’s, they’re Naturalizers.

    Amanda- Smartypants… I’m reading our BBCS book right now and I actually love it. I’m sorry that my stress has ended and yours is just beginning. You know what makes a stressful workday all better? Candy corn. Is it too late to stock up?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

