Let’s Talk About TV

My mom called last night.  She was worried that I hadn’t been blogging and I’d been so busy lately with work that I hadn’t even returned her emails.  I admit, I’ve been bad.  But work has been so head spinningly, panic attack-inducingly INSANE for the past couple of weeks.  Add to that the cold that wouldn’t go away and the thought that I’ll be leaving in a jetplane in oh, nine days… aaah!

But I’m good.  The cold is finally gone.  If you ask Dr. Google, I had H1N1.  All the symptoms were there except for the fever.  Let’s just call it a nasty two-week cold and leave it at that.  So with long days of exhausting work and a lousy splitting headache, what else can you do at night but watch TV?  Luckily the new shows have been starting up and I have to say I’ve become hooked on a couple.

Dancing With the Stars, of course.  DWTS just finished week three and my favorites so far are Kelly Osbourne, Louie the snowboarder, and Mya.  I don’t want to admit that I like Donny Osmond,  but honestly he’s doing great and he gave Bruno a big fake kiss on the mouth this week so I think I have to like him.

The Middle.  I never expected to like anything Patricia Heaton acted in, so deep was my hatred for anything Everybody Loves Raymond (I have the same problem with Seinfeld and Julia Louis-Dreyfus), but I watched the first episode last week and I love this crazy family.  From the moment the sulking, sarcastic teen-aged son came into the kitchen to complain about something and Heaton’s character, Frankie said “I can’t hear you if you’re not wearing pants” I was hooked.  The sarcasm and love and twisted disfunctionality – I just love it.  I can’t wait to park myself on the couch tonight to see the next episode.

Glee.  Let’s see… cute, sassy people with incredible voices singing Journey and Bonnie Tyler and Kanye West songs in a high school glee club and an a capella group called “The Acafellas”?  You had me at Journey.  Last week there was even a guest spot by Kristin Chenoweth.  How could it get any better?  There’s a new episode on tonight.  I think I missed an episode, maybe the first or second one?  I’m not sure, but once things calm down I’m going to go online and catch up.

Eastwick. I love this show and I am more than certain that it will be canceled, which makes me sad.  I love Eastwick for the same reasons I loved Pushing Daisies and we all know how well that went.  It’s lovely and funny and magical and a pure delight for my very tired brain.  Based on the movie The Witches of Eastwick, Eastwick the show is set in a small New England town where three very different women come together via some strange and mysterious circumstances that all seem to surround the arrival of the handsome stranger Daryl van Horne.  It stars Lindsay Price from another canceled favorite Lipstick Jungle, and Rebecca Romijn and I am just praying that it won’t be canceled right away.  Give me a full season, at least.  Please, ABC.  Another new episode is on tonight if I can stay up late enough to watch.

Other than DWTS on Mondays, it looks like all the shows I like are on Wednesday.  That makes it easier to remember what days to tune in.  And three of the four are on ABC.  Way to go ABC.  So tell me, what are your favorite shows?

One Comment

  1. The Middle was so funny tonight! I laughed so loud. Then, I watched Modern Family & laughed even louder. Oh, man. They’re even funnier when I’m tired. Eastwick is not living up to my expectations, but it’s okay…I just can’t love it. I LOVED Lipstick Jungle & can’t understand why it was canceled?! What did someone find wrong with it?

    Pretty hooked on DWTS, too. Kelly, Louie, yup yup yup. Donny Osmond is surprisingly pretty great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

