Nine Years Ago

just married

Nine years ago today, I awoke to a torrential downpour.  A short while later when the sun came out, it was so blazing hot that I thought I might melt into a puddle of sweat and hair gel.  But none of that really mattered because nine years ago today I married my best friend.

Nine years… I can’t believe it.  Can I blow your mind even more?  We got married on the nine year anniversary of when we started dating, so we’ve been a couple for EIGHTEEN YEARS.  Yowza.

I found this quote the other day by writer Calvin Tomkins, describing the relationship between the artist John Currin and his wife, Rachel Feinstein:

Their marriage, which is now in its tenth year, has been a dovetailing of contrary qualities whose symbiosis fascinates and occasionally irritates their less ecstatically married friends.

I would like for that to be said about us someday.  We aspire to fascinate and irritate you with our symbiosis.  Happy anniversary, honey.

5 Comments

  1. Congratulations! I remember your wedding, vividly! It was everything that a wedding should be…good food, good friends; a celebration of friendship at it’s finest…beer and horseshoes only topped the cake!

    Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  2. Happy Anniversary!!!! I only wish we knew each other way back then . . . but something we will always share is the fact that we both married our best friend. It only gets better with every year. Enjoy the ride.

    Reply

  3. That picture is adorable. You were such babies! And you guys are not at all irritating – which makes it slightly even more awe-inspiring (If at all possible.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

