Tasty Imposters

This past weekend I had two gatherings with friends for which I needed to make dessert.  I love gatherings like that.

As you know, I’ve been trying hard to keep with my cash budget and so I went looking for desserts that might use some of the ingredients I already had in my pantry.  Believe it or not, these fit the bill.

I made Dorie Greenspan’s Snickery Squares, from her cookbook Baking From My Home to Yours, and then I made – oh my goodness they were so good I am drooling just looking at the picture – Peppermint Patties from Gourmet Magazine.

Now the Snickery Squares are delicious – a layer of shortbread topped with a layer of dulce de leche (from a can!) and finished off with candied peanuts and melted chocolate – but the Peppermint Patties just blew my mind.  They were so simple and completely authentic-tasting.  I challenge you to tell the difference between mine and a York Peppermint Patty (if there were any left over for the testing, that is).  The only bad thing is that I now know what is inside a Peppermint Patty.  Crisco.  Or vegetable shortening, if that makes you feel any better.  And only a little, just about a tablespoon.  They are totally worth a tablespoon of Crisco. So if you’re feeling like making your own Snickers or Peppermint Patties, I say go for it.  Links to the recipes are below.

Snickery Squares Here is a copy of the recipe with some great photos and tips from Nosh With Me. Recipe originally from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours.

Peppermint Patties – I originally found the recipe via Foodgawker where I saw this post from Ceramic Canvas. Recipe originally from Gourmet Magazine.

4 Comments

  1. I could tell your Peppermint Patties from the real ones in a heartbeat. Yours are waaaayyyyy better. Much more chocolate and that makes all the difference. I only have two left and I will weep for a long time when they are gone. Thanks again for making and bringing them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

