Home Again, Home Again…

I know that I need to write a post about Maine, but now that I’ve been home for a few days, I’ve moved on to the next adventure leading up to the end of my reign of fun, and I can’t think of anything to say about the trip except: Maine: it rhymes with rain.

Don’t get me wrong, we had our share of fun, but we also had more than our share of rain.  The rain traveled with us and Maine was wet and grey when we arrived on Sunday.  It rained through the day on Monday and finally cleared up Monday night around 5pm so we took a little trip to the beach in Kennebunk.

Tuesday we headed to York to go the the zoo.  Nearly every year we go to the zoo and each time the amusement park outside of the zoo is closed and sad and makes me feel like we’re walking through a Scooby Doo mystery.  This year it was actually open and we took full advantage of the fun.

We spent the rest of the day at the zoo and actually managed to avoid the rain completely.  Andrea and I were cursing ourselves for not buying those stylish summer scarves at Old Navy the day before because even though it wasn’t raining, it was windy and cold and I considered buying a stuffed snake at the gift shop just to have something to wrap around my neck.

(I told them to look scared since there was a crocodile behind them.)  I realize that I just mentioned the cold and then showed you a picture of the kids in muscle shirts, but they’re boys.  They’re numb to the cold.

Wednesday morning we headed to Perkin’s Cove in Ogunquit to walk the Marginal Way along the ocean and grab a bite to eat before we left for home.  I woke up that morning and it was so foggy, I couldn’t see the railing on the deck outside of m bedroom.  I wasn’t sure we’d even be able to see the ocean from the Marginal Way.

We managed to walk quite a ways before the wind picked up and our tummies started to growl telling us it was time to head back and find lunch.

We may not have gotten to swim in the pool or play all day at Old Orchard Beach, but we still had a great time and we still love Maine.  If you want to see the full album of pictures from the trip, please see the Maine 2009 folder on Flickr.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

