Devilishly Good

Before I head off for my week of fun, I thought I’d leave you with some tasty pictures and a recipe, if you’re so inclined.  For Saturday’s party, I made a batch of mini devil dogs using my sister’s famous, and ridiculously simple whoopie pie recipe, only instead of making them round, I piped them out with an improvised pastry bag (a gallon-size Ziploc bag with the bottom corner snipped off).  They came out perfect and they’re about the size of a Milano cookie.  Just right for snacking.

Here’s Andrea’s recipe for you.  Make them any shape you like, or make one big, huge one and eat it all yourself.

Whoopie Pies

Andrea’s famous recipe for moist and delicious whoopie pies.

Cakes:
1 boxed Devil’s Food Cake mix
1-1½ cups all-purpose flour

Filling:
1 stick butter, softened
1⅔ cup confectioner’s sugar
2 cups marshmallow Fluff
½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°.

Prepare the cake mix as directed on the box. Add the extra flour, ½ cup at a time, and stir after each addition until the batter thickens to a consistency similar to cookie dough.

Spoon batter, a tablespoon at a time, about 2 inches apart, onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for 6-8 minutes, until the tops of the cakes spring back when pressed.

Let the cakes cool completely before assembling.

To make the filling, in a medium bowl, beat the butter until smooth. Add the confectioner’s sugar and mix until smooth. Add the fluff and vanilla extract and mix until combined.

Match cakes up into similarly-sized pairs. Spoon a teaspoon (or more if you like) of filling onto each bottom cake and cover with top.

Have a great week everyone.  I may be back on Thursday to tell you all about my Maine trip, but if not, I hope you all have a great fourth of July, too!

3 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. After eating these in Amish country awhile back, I have been meaning to track it down. How nice to find it in my RSS reader. What a cute twist on the shape. Very festive!

    Reply

  2. thanks so much for sharing the recipe. now the kids and i
    will have something fun to make together for this weekend.
    love their shape.

    Reply

  3. Oh these look good but I don’t have fluff or cake mix, was just looking for a last minute Valentine’s recipe but I’ll just make them on a regular day instead (like the next day I go to the store and buy those 2 missing ingredients!). Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

