Made

I finally got around to taking pictures of some of the things I’ve been sewing lately.  First up, hot off the presses (er… sewing machine) the Weekend Away Travel Bag from Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing book.

Putting the bag together, I kept reading the pattern over and over because it just seemed counter intuitive to sew the outer and inner pieces of the bag together before assembling the bag, but now that I’ve put it together, it makes total sense and makes for a nice, neat bag.  I see plenty of these bags in my near future.

Next is, possibly, my favorite thing I’ve ever made.  The I’ll Have One of Everything bag from Anna Maria Horner’s Seams To Me book.  I cannot tell you how proud I am of this bag, I’m not even a little humble about it.  Even my sister said with surprise, “you made this?”  The pattern was so easy to follow – the hardest part was picking out the fabrics – and I followed the pattern ALMOST completely.

The pattern called for casual, braided fabric strips but I went for black canvas straps instead.  Also, the pattern called for the sides of the bag to be sewn up almost to the middle where the shoulder straps are.  I wanted a more open bag so I made some 1/2-inch bias tape and just covered the raw ends of the fabric.  Then I added ties to the sides made from the same bias tape.  It’s just enough to keep the bag closed and I like the look of the loose ties.  I made two big pockets inside for my phone and keys and it’s just the most perfect bag ever.  The funny thing is that if you looked inside of it, the only thing in there is my wallet.  A nice, big bag for my little, empty wallet.

Lastly, another Taxi Tote from the same Seams To Me book.  I struggled a bit with the first one I made, but then it turned out to be a fantastic bag for carrying everything and I decided that my sister needed one, too.  The second time following the patter was MUCH easier and I whipped up the bag in record time.

3 Comments

  1. Please don’t tell me you made all this in one weekend. They are amazing. At this rate you will have the whole little shack filled by Thanksgiving 😉

    Reply

  2. can i rent you for a few hours so you can teach my kids
    to make wonderful things like yours? incredible items!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

