Wonderful Weekend

I can’t even begin to tell you what a wonderful three-day weekend I had.  I can’t begin, you see, because I start to cry when I think about the fact that it’s over.  Three beautiful, sunny, perfect days spent outside with family and friends.  It doesn’t get any better.

Friday, one of Luke’s friends from high school came over with his two boys.  We went for a walk down by the river and found some interesting animal bones that they were pretty excited about.  They took them hone (sorry Jessica) and there was talk of making them into a Batman mask.

I worked in the garden, sipped lemonade, and read my tattered digital photography book again to get some tips on landscape photography, which I am, admittedly, not the best at.

Saturday was opening day for freshwater fishing and we got up early to celebrate.  Luke and Roland dressed in their sexy waders to walk the river and fish.  Molly and I followed along on the bank to take pictures.

What a beautiful morning.

river fishing

The rest of the day was spent in the yard, on the deck, in the sun… sigh.  What a perfect day.

Sunday was party day.  Alex’s 4th birthday extravaganza was on Sunday.  My sister did an awesome job with the crafts (make your own dinosaur hat) and the games (dinosaur shoe egg race).

I finally decided on a dinosaur cake design and it seemed to be a hit although – HOLY FROSTING!  The body and head are made of three layers of chocolate cake with frosting in between and on the sides and all around… phew!  I think we all crashed from the sugar high afterward.

Sunday afternoon Luke settled in for bed and I sat on the sunny deck with Molly, read gardening magazines, and listened to the peepers.  It just couldn’t have been a more perfect weekend.  I’d like to order a repeat of this weekend for next week. Could someone arrange this for me, please?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

