What I Love: Brett Dennen

brett-dennen_270069_full

If ever there was a perfect example of the look of someone not meshing with the sound of their voice, Brett Dennen would be it.  King of It.  My awesome music-loving friend Megan introduced me to Brett Dennen with one of her famous mix CDs (and then moved far, far away to Philadelphia, leaving me new music-less.  But that’s a different story for a different time…) and I was immediately drawn in to this strange, sweet, soulful voice that almost sort of reminded me of Ella Fitzgerald.  Here, listen to this and tell me you don’t feel the same.

After listening to and loving the few songs that Megan had given me, I found more on iTunes and downloaded everything.  I now have a playlist called “Brett” with nothing but his music because it just makes me happy.  After having a lousy day last week, I was driving in my car, listening to Brett sing San Francisco and I was singing along at the top of my lungs.  The lyrics go “…I’m gonna plant a little garden / paint my bathroom blue…” and for some reason, at that point I laughed out loud.  I laughed at myself, at me feeling sorry for myself, at painting my bathroom blue, I just laughed.  Now whenever I hear that lyric, it makes me smile.

I found, through Brett’s website brettdennen.net, that he was on Twitter, so now I follow him and now I know where he’s playing, what he’s up to, and what he’s cooking.  I know this sounds strange, but it’s so charming to get a recipe for butternut squash soup from a musician via Twitter.

I also found that Brett is playing at a free Life Is Good Festival in Boston (along with the Blind Boys of Alabama!!) on June 20.  I’m afraid of crowds. And cities. And going to crowded cities, so I won’t be going, but I totally think that my friend Karen should go and report back to me on how cool it was.

But anyhow, Brett Dennen: awesome music, infectious beats, spine-tingly voice, dog-lover, great all-around human being.  Go now and buy his music, paint your bathroom blue, and make yourself happy, too.

(Thank you to AmieSt for the use of the photo.)

2 Comments

  1. He’s Awesome! I can’t wait to go to the concert! So, I think you and Luke need to come and I promise to hold your hand and keep you safe in the crowded city. 🙂 Please!?! Its on the Common too… which is a big park with ducks and playgrounds and big leafy green trees!

    Reply

  2. Ahh! Yes I totally agree. I just heard him for the first time on Jango and I saw his picture there too. I thought to myself, no no, surely this amazing voice cannot be coming out of this snazzy carrot-headed boy! But it is! And I love it. Glad you do too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

