Bake Like Me

If you’ve ever looked at any of the dishes I’ve made and wished you could bake like me, please let me assure you, YOU CAN.  All you have to do is abandon all hope of perfection, and then get lazy and distracted.  Also, have faith and feel free to ignore the recipe.

Tonight I wanted to make a banana bread.  I had two bananas withering away in the fruit bowl and needed to move quickly or throw them out.  The problem was that you really need about three bananas to make bread.  I had two brown bananas and a bunch of new, greenish bananas.  What the heck, I threw in a greenish one.  I proceeded along a similar path for the rest of the recipe, destroying it as I went, ignoring the directions: not beating the eggs before adding them in, not alternating the wet and dry ingredients, and using a teaspoon that had previously gone on a bad ride in the garbage disposal and is now oblong and probably only holds about 3/4 teaspoon now.

I also didn’t feel like getting another measuring cup dirty after measuring out the (eh… give or take) 2/3 cup of sugar, so I used the same 2/3 cup to eyeball the 1 3/4 cup of flour.  Our grandmothers never had measuring cups, they used tea cups and their hands.  Why does baking have to be so precise?  We’re making food, not chemical weapons – relax and enjoy.

As I was typing this, I realized that I forgot to set the timer on the oven and thankfully could smell the bread aroma wafting down the hall telling me it was time to turn off the oven.  The bread came out beautifully. And I barely paid attention. See? Now go forth an bake something!

3 Comments

  1. It always amazes me how talented you are, and how your perception of yourself and your incredible abilities varies so greatly. I don’t know anyone else who can bake amazing things, take amazing photos of these amazing things and then sew/craft a device to display and transport these amazing things. I can’t sew a button on a pair of pants, never mind whip together a few stray ingredients and forget to set the timer, only to have the most aromatic and moist banana bread arise from these mishaps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

