Mama’s Got a Brand New Bag

Yes, I did just call myself “Mama” but only for effect, you know, as in “Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag”.  I’m not actually a mama.  I feel the need to get that cleared up before anyone (hi Mom!) gets their hopes up.

Check it out!  Cute, right?  I made it.  Did too.  Really.  In just over one movie.  This seems to be my measure of time when sewing.  I can make a bag in two episodes of House or one viewing of Stardust including the deleted scenes.  I actually did watch Stardust while making this bag.  I love that movie.  Have you seen it?  I seem to fall hard for the fairy-tales-for-grown-ups-type movies.

Anyhow, my bag!  Do you love it?  The strap is just the right length and it hangs perfectly on my shoulder.  I love it.  It’s puckered funny in this picture because it has my brick of a phone and my iPod in it and they’re pulling on the magnetic clasp.  It’s actually too big for me since all I carry are my phone and iPod and a little credit card holder, but I’m thinking of making a much bigger version for all of those large bag-lovers out there.  What do you think?


6 Comments

  1. Aww… thanks everyone!

    The material is from Jo-Ann Etc. and it was just one of their $1.49 pre-packaged fat quarters so I’m not sure who makes it or what it’s called.

    I didn’t use a pattern, I made my own based on a few pleated bags I saw on Flickr and it only used up about 1 1/2 fat quarters plus some fusible interfacing and a magnetic clasp.

    I will definitely be making more soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

