What I Like About You

Oh thank goodness, a theme.  Amanda did it, so why not follow suit?  Yes it’s yet another Facebook meme, but this one is strangely interesting to read and it’s about marriages instead of high school.  Maybe you’ll learn something interesting, for instance I am crazy and Luke is a tolerant saint.  Well, at any rate, here’s what I have to say about me and Luke and our marriage…

What are your middle names?
My middle name is Marie, Luke’s is Andrew.

How long have you been together?
Let’s see… we started “going out” when we were 15, so subtract the three, carry the one… A MILLION YEARS.  We’ve been married almost eight and a half years.  We’ve been a couple for seventeen or so.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
A year or so.  I knew of him, he was a friend’s boyfriend’s friend and I had seen him around.  He didn’t like me, I thought he was weird.

Who asked whom out?
I’m not sure if I could answer that without the aid of a time machine.  I think it may have been a mutual decision after months of talking on the phone and visiting each other, we just agreed that we were “going out”.

How old are each of you?
We’re 32.  I am eleven long days older than he is and he will never let me forget it.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Although Luke has a brother, we pretend he doesn’t and never see him and I sometimes have to remind myself that he’s not an only child.  So that was the round-about way of saying we see my sister a lot more.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Luke’s 3rd shift schedule.  Before the switch, we did everything together, we were joined at the hip and it’s weird now not to always be together.  On the weekends it’s hard because I might want to do something that doesn’t involve Luke but I won’t do it because I feel guilty that I’m losing an hour or two of the precious few hours I have with him each week.

Did you go to the same school?
Nope. Me: Bolton High, he: Windham Tech.

Are you from the same home town?
No again.  Me: Bolton, he: Andover

Who is smarter?
That’s not a fair question.  We’re both smart in different ways.  I can’t read a tape measure to save my life and it takes me an hour to find the 9/16 wrench because I’m trying to figure out if that’s bigger than the 5/8 one or not. Luke can fix anything and build anything and he understands electricity and mechanical things.  To me he is brilliant.  But I read more books.

Who is the most sensitive?
I’d say me, but not by much.  I’m sensitive in a crying way, he’s sensitive in a take-things-the-wrong-way-and-get-mad way.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
Does the deck count?  We stopped eating out to save money last year, but before then we were semi-regulars at Dimitri’s, a local pizza place.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Maui

Who has the craziest exes?
We don’t really have exes.  You know, when you start dating exclusively as freshmen in high school, there aren’t many chances to have exes.  Although here’s a funny story since I know Kristie reads this site (hi Kristie!).  Luke briefly dated my best friend from high school, Kristie, and I still have a picture seared into my brain of Luke and Kristie making out at a party at our friend, Jen’s house.  That’s not to say Kristie is crazy, of course, she’s just the only ex of Luke’s that I know of.

Who has the worst temper?
Let’s just say that I, myself, have never gotten frustrated enough that the zipper of my pants getting stuck halfway up would cause me to rip my pants off Incredible Hulk style and fling the shredded remains across the room.

Who does the cooking?
I generally do, but Luke does like to cook when he has the time and he makes a mean banana pancake.

Who is the neat-freak?
Ha! Have you seen our floors.  I wouldn’t say that either one of us is a neat freak.  I don’t care if things are dirty as long as they are in their place. And by “in their place” I mean at the appropriate angle and perfect position.  I’m more of an OCD object-arranger than I am a neat freak.

Who is more stubborn?
I don’t know, probably me becuase I like it when things go my way.  Is that being stubborn?

Who hogs the bed?
We each get the bed to ourselves.  Molly sleeps at Luke’s feet in the afternoon when he goes to bed, and she sleeps with her head on his pillow at night when I go to bed.  Under the covers, of course.

Who wakes up earlier?
Well since Luke wakes up for work a 11pm, he might win that honor.  On the weekends when he goes back to a normal-ish schedule he generally gets up early so I’ll have to give that one to him.

Where was your first date?
We watched my dad compete in the Bolton Lake canoe race and then my sister drove us to go play mini golf.  Just typing that makes me cringe.

Who is more jealous?
Me.  Stop looking at him.

How long did it take to get serious?
I’m not sure how to answer that.  We talked on the phone for a good 6 months before we became a couple.  Seven and a half years later we got engaged.

Who eats more?
Luke. There a legends told of how much food that skinny little boy could pack in.  Songs have been written about the stuffed shell incident of 1995.  No contest.

Who does the laundry?
We both do.

Who’s better with the computer?
Me, but only because I’ve been forced to work with one day in and day out for years.  He never uses one at work, otherwise I think he’d be very good at using and understanding them.

Who drives when you are together?
Luke does, I hate do drive, but unfortunately he hates other drivers and every car ride results in the “people are idiots” road-rage monologue from him and the empathetic “maybe they’re just lost/didn’t know their high beams were on/transporting a woman in labor” statements from me.  Still, I’ll take that over driving any day.

There!  So did you learn anything new?  Feel like answering them yourself?  Feel free to answer some or all of the same questions about your significant other in the comments, or leave a link to your website if you prefer answering there.

2 Comments

  1. Of all the memories, THIS is the one that stands out in your mind??? What about countless days as Bagel Bunnies, bagel fights, eating frozen cookie dough out of the walk-in (maybe that was just me) or driving through Hartford trying to find the soup kitchen…

    Reply

  2. Oh god, I think about that trip to the soup kitchen EVERY TIME I’m in Hartford. Seriously.

    Don’t worry, I have many, many, many wonderful memories of you. That was just the only one I have of “Luke’s exes”. Give me a meme about high school best friends and I’ll fill it with stories about us.

    Remember when we put on matching outfits and walked all the way from your parent’s house to Jen Amundsen’s house for no reason at all?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

