My Taxi Tote

I’m finding it hard to type this morning, as my fingertips are so sore from being pricked by pins for several hours last night.  It feels like I took a hot pan out of the oven without oven mitts.  Ow.  But nonetheless, please admire my new Taxi Tote.  It’s the first pattern I’ve sewn from the book Seams to Me by Anna Maria Horner which was a much wanted Christmas present.  As I was sewing and stabbing myself last night, I was unfortunately not thrilled with the bag and how it was coming out.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to talk about it here today because I love Anna Maria and her website and her fabric line and the last thing I wanted to do was say something bad about her lovely, new book.

I am, as you know, impatient when it comes to following written directions like recipes or, say SEWING PATTERNS, so I tried to take a deep breath and read the pattern over several times and s-l-o-w-l-y, but still I was lost a couple of times.  It’s a simple bag to put together, I think I was making it more difficult that it needed to be.  I used Alexander Henry fabric from Jo-Ann Etc. for the outside and the lining, readymade bias tape for the binding, and a big, vintage button from my stash instead of the fabric covered one in the pattern.  I got to the point where the binding needed to be sewn on and I had just about had it with the pin poking, the bag was bigger than I expected, and then I read that the binding was to be machine stitched (which I never ever have luck with) and I gave up.  I took a break, made some tea, and decided that if I was going to finish this bag and not completely screw it up, I was going to have to hand stitch the binding.  And so I did.  Three hours later…

VOILA!  The best part was that staying up until 12:30 to finish sewing, I got to see one of my Hollywood boyfriends, Jeffrey Dean Morgan on Jimmy Kimmel.  Totally worth it.  And you know what?  This morning I love it.  It’s perfect for my book and lunch and water bottle and camera  and all the things I take to work every morning, and the strap is somehow magically shaped so that it manages to stay up on my wimpy shoulders!  Amazing.

So the verdict is… Book: Wonderful, Pattern: Lovely, Lisa: Flawed and Impatient.

7 Comments

  1. You are in no way flawed, and the bag is beautiful! I often prefer handsewing to machine sewing on binding so you were smart to do so if doing it at the machine made you uncomfortable! Whether I advised all machine, half machine & half by hand or all by hand….someone would want to do otherwise!

    Would love to see you upload it to the Seams to Me flickr group:

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/seamstome/

    love, Anna Maria

    Reply

  2. I think it looks great, so I’m happy to hear you didn’t give up! I really want to make this bag too, so I appreciate your candidness in explaining your process. Great job with this!

    Reply

  3. I was frustrated and impatient too when I made mine. It was the first bag I’d ever made and I had to read and re-read several times for it to sink in but I love the bag and how the strap actually stays on my non-existent shoulder. I don’t carry much so it’s a little too large for me but I still love it.

    Reply

  4. […] another Taxi Tote from the same Seams To Me book.  I struggled a bit with the first one I made, but then it turned out to be a fantastic bag for carrying everything and I decided that my sister […]

    Reply

  5. It’s so funny, this morning I was thinking of making this bag and I had the exact same fabric in mind!! I am reading and re-reading the instructions, too, and finding it hard to follow them as I am a very visual learner. I need more pictures! But your bag turned out lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

