Who Are You?

Have you ever had one of those out-of-body experiences where you suddenly realize that the way you see yourself isn’t always the way other people see you?  I’ve been having several of those experiences lately and I find it so completely weird.

Yesterday while out with my mom I commented to her that I’m always stunned when someone invites me somewhere or tells me that they’re happy I came to their party because I truly and deeply to my core feel uncool, and I am always surprised that people want to spend time with me.  My mom said that she thought I always managed to at least look cool  and she wouldn’t have known that I didn’t feel cool.  Even that little statement surprised me.  Yes, I even thought that my mom knew I was uncool.

A friend commented on a Twitter post a while back where I said, “So hungry. Making dinner and trying not to shove all the Doritos into my mouth while I wait.”  She commented, “That was the most un-Lisa like thing you have ever, ever said.”  This amazed me because Doritos, like Oreos and Cheetos, are my weakness.  I am always trying not to shove all the Doritos in my mouth.  I fake self control in public, but only because of the shame of public scarfing.  Except at Chili’s – you BBCS ladies have seen me inhale some chips.  But maybe other people don’t see me as the weak, carb-addicted junkie that I see.  Maybe that’s a good thing.

Then again today another friend commented on my Facebook status where I wrote that I “…much prefer shopping to working.”  He said that he didn’t see me as a shopper.  This makes me feel good because I don’t want to be seen as a shallow shoppaholic, and really I am not a typical shopper, but in all honesty, I go to Jo-Ann Fabric at least twice a week.  I would consider that shopping.

People have told me that they see me as a tea drinker, not a coffee drinker.  What does this say about me?  Also most people automatically assume that I’m a vegetarian, although I haven’t been one for 10 years or more.  Isn’t that strange?

So I think of myself as an uncool, junk food-loving, coffee drinking, meat-eating consumer and everyone else sees a what? Reserved, controlled, tea-loving vegetarian??  Wow, you all have a much higher opinion of me than I do.  How weird is that?

Also, these pictures have nothing to do with anything except for the fact that they’re the Calvin Klein plates I bought yesterday (while SHOPPING!) and I got them (all ten of them) for $10 at the outlet store.  Woot!  Now you can all picture me as a thrifty bargain shopper, too.

One Comment

  1. It is funny how differently people see us. I think people see the parts of us that relate to them and sort of fill in the rest.

    P.S. Love your new plates! I had a dream about them last night…sad I know…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

