Snowglobes!

When I asked my mom what she wanted for Christmas, she thought for a minute and then said, “you know, I really would like a new snowglobe”.  Not what I was expecting, but good because it gave me an idea.

I had seen a few mentions of making homemade snowglobes in the Internet and I thought that was the perfect craft to make with my nephews.  I had a date to watch them last week, so in preparation I searched around for interesting jars, I gathered things to put inside the jars, and I bought glycerine to make the glitter snow float more slowly in the water.  We were set to go!

There are several websites listing instructions for making your own snowglobes.  Martha, of course, although her instructions require waiting overnight for epoxy to dry – no thanks.  Here’s one from Education.com that’s pretty much the method I followed.  Here’s another from Little Elephants – with bonus what NOT to do instructions.

If I could add my own what not to do tips, I would offer you this:

1. Use the glycerine, but add only a teensy tiny amount.  We used a half teaspoon for our 8oz. jars and the glitter got all clumpy.  We diluted the water by about half and it was still a bit clumpy, although the clumps did break apart after sitting overnight.

2. Rough up the inside of the jar lid before gluing your figures inside.  I scratched the lid with a knife, but sandpaper would work well, too.  I did this only after gluing the things to the lid, filling the jars with water, and finding that, after a vigorous shaking, the Christmas trees were floating around with the glitter.

3. Use superglue.  I used a hot glue gun because I was working with a 6 and a 3-year old, and when weighing the risks of possible hot glue burns vs. permanently gluing tiny hands to the dining room table, I went with the hot glue burns.  No one was burned, but I think the superglue would have stuck better in the long run.

We gave the snowglobes to my mom for her birthday last night and they were a big hit.  Cameron’s was the one with the snowman, Alex made the one with the Christmas trees. Overall it was an easy, not terribly messy, and awfully cheap craft to make with stuff you mostly have on hand.  It cost me $2.50 for the glycerine (which I found at Jo-Ann Fabric in the cake decoraitng area).  As Martha would say, it’s a good thing.

4 Comments

  1. Absolutely adorable! I am inspired to try this myself.

    Inspiration also hit me back when you mentioned the apple butter; I just had to give that a whirl. So I held an Apple Party for my nephews and niece, including the apple butter. They were not fans, but I loved it.

    Maybe I will now have a snowglobe party . . . 🙂

    Reply

  2. I showed these cool snowglobes to Emily, and she has decided this is what she will make for Grammy, Papa and Auntie this year! I hope ours come out half as nice as yours did! By the way, I, too, was inspired by your Apple Butter. The kids and I made some and it is now a new favorite in our house! Thanks for so much inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

