Coming Soon

Never fail, the Friday after Thanksgiving, my aunt’s Christmas card arrives in the mailbox.  I don’t know how she does it, how she plans ahead and times it perfectly.  This year I was actually prepared and could have possibly gotten my Christmas cards out early, too, but I’ve decided to hang onto them just a little longer.

It’s kind of embarrassing how much I love to look at this year’s Christmas cards.  I drew the designs, scanned them and played with them in Photoshop, then sent them to Moo.com to have them printed.  My favorite is the Christmas cardinal, but I know that not all of my card recipients celebrate Christmas, so I also designed the peace bird (sort of a mockingbird hybrid).  They even look nice in my Christmas tree, that’s not making it any easier to send them off to everyone.

I stopped at the post office this morning to ask about postage, since they’re postcards without envelopes.  Our local mail lady told me that they would just need postcard stamps and here they are: Tropical Fruit.  Really?  Because nothing says Merry Christmas like a star fruit and a papaya.  Oh well.  Hopefully this week I’ll decide it’s time to part with my beloved post cards and they’ll be out in the mail to everyone soon!

Leave a Reply

