Ho Ho Ho

I am so irrationally excited for Christmas this year.  I have the urge to shove November out of the way and just get on with it!  I gave in and played Christmas carols yesterday, and if the DVDs weren’t in the attic (the creepy attic) with the Christmas decorations, I would have watched Miracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life a few times by now.

Last night I was delighted to hear that ABC Family not only has my favorite string of classic (and often terrible) Christmas movies on their 25 Days of Christmas starting December 1st, but they’re also playing a Countdown to the 25 Days of Christmas starting on November 16!

I love Christmas movies. The traditional favorites, the horribly sappy made-for-TV flicks, I could watch them everyday.  If there was a Christmas movie channel on cable, I’d subscribe.

This leads me straight into this week’s 5 Things – what are your 5 favorite Christmas movies?  I love them all, but the five I want to see first are these:

1. Miracle on 34th Street (always viewed right after the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade, of course)

2. It’s a Wonderful Life

3. A Christmas Story

4. A Charlie Brown Christmas

5. Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Of course five isn’t enough because what about Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas?  Or The Year Without a Santa Claus?  Or Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town?  Or Holiday in Handcuffs?  Just kidding, I could never suggest a movie with Mario Lopez and his overly large dimples in it.  Although I did watch it at least three times last year on ABC, and OK, I admit, it was cute.

So how about you?  What are your favorites?

2 Comments

  1. 1. It’s a Wonderful Life (I absolutely LOVE this movie! I missed it last year!)

    2. A Christmas Story (My sister, Doug and I usually watch 24 hours of it every year while wrapping presents and drinking wine! I don’t recommend wrapping and drinking…sometimes you forget what you wrapped and who it was for!)

    3. Mickey’s A Christmas Carol – no other version will do.

    4. Twas’ the Night Before Christmas (the cartoon version with the mice and the clock designed to call Santa)

    5. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

    Of course, if my kids had their way, we would watch every Christmas cartoon ever made, all year long!

    Reply

  2. LOVE Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas. Did you know that Goodspeed Opera House is bringing that movie to the stage this holiday season? I plan to see it and I’ll let you know how it holds up to the movie 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

