Well, I guess that’s that.

Our week-long vacation ended today.  Luke just went to bed, the house is quiet, and I made a cup of tea and sat at the computer to try and figure out how I used to do this Sunday night thing.  It seems like years since I had a quiet night to myself.  I have another five hours before I have to wake Luke up for work.  What to do?

It’s been a nice, long week.  It started off with a visit to catch up with a friend we haven’t seen since July.  After that, we spent several quiet days at home working on the golf cart that Luke picked up.  We planted trees.  We slept late and drank coffee together in our PJs.  We hung out with friends.  We handed out candy to trick-or-treaters.  We ended the week at Luke’s cousin’s wedding last night, then came home to find that there was something wrong with our wood boiler.  Not the best way to end the week.

The pump that circulates the hot water from the boiler to the house wasn’t working and the water in the boiler was boiling.  I know this doesn’t make sense, but trust me.  The boiler should never boil.  Things overheat and melt.  It was after midnight (and freaking cold, I may add) we were both exhausted and still in our wedding clothes, and Luke changed the water pump while I stood there and held the flashlight.  We couldn’t get the problem fixed, so I ended up hosing down burning coals as Luke shoveled them out of the fire box so we could cool the unit down.  We were both a little freaked out, and now without heat in the house and a smoldering pile of coals in the driveway.  I was wide awake and laid in bed watching TV until I realized that it was after 2AM and I could turn the clocks back at the appropriate time for daylight savings.  Never was I so happy for daylight savings time to end; I really needed that hour.

Today made up for the nightmare of last night.  Luke worked outside and I spent the day cleaning the house and de-Halloweening it.  I finally got a chance to sew, after getting my machine back on Thursday, and now I’m back working on Christmas presents.  Sigh… back to normal.  Which is so odd, actually.

Luke and I were talking about how, even though we’re not looking forward to going back to work, we are looking forward to having our structure and schedules back.  Why do we do this to ourselves?  When we have to work, we dream of our next week off to spend time together.  When we have time off, we think about getting back to having our own schedules and time to ourselves.  At least we’re both the same kind of crazy.

So what I meant to say about 450 words ago, is I’m back!  I’ve missed you all and I have so much to catch up on.  Also?  This week!  I’m so excited and scared and hopeful for this week.  Everyone remember to get out and vote on Tuesday.

That’s pretty much it.  I hope you’ve all been well, I’ll have to catch up later because I think I’m going to go sew something now.  I’ve only got four and a half hours before Luke wakes up.

Leave a Reply

