OK, I Give

I can say with great certainty that I have never in my life peeled so many apples as I have this fall.  I’ve made apple butter, more apple butter, apple pies, apple pancakes, and now reading this recipe for apple muffins four ways, and knowing that my refrigerator is now empty of apple butter combine to make me want to go pick another 25 pounds of apples and spend my vacation up to my elbows in peels.

I think it might be time for one of these.

This one is from Linens-N-Things, which, have you heard is going out of business?  Unfortunately, I was there last night (when I was thinking about Christmas gifts, not apples or apple peeler/corer/slicers) to see what kind of bargains I could find.  Walking in under the giant, screaming neon GOING OUT OF BUSINESS banner, I found a bunch of diasppointing 10% off signs.  Aparently the “storewide clearance sale” is not urgent.  But anyhow… me.  Right, we were talking about me. Me and my hang-ups for kitchen appliances.

Maybe it’s not the kitchen appliances I have an issue with, it’s storage.  I hate to store things.  I would rather get rid of somehting I don’t use regularly than shove it in a cabinet.  It’s the oppisite of being a pack rat.  This is why I have no fall or winter clothes to wear right now.

I remember feeling that the apple peeler/corer/slicer was the height of excess and that I would NEVER buy one because you use it, what? Once a year?  HA!  I can’t tell you how many times in the past month I have cursed myself for not buying one.  I think I may return to the “storewide clearance” at LNT today and pick myself up a new piece of kitchen excess.  Maybe I’m turning a new leaf.  Maybe I’m getting old and lazy.  Maybe I’m going to start collecting things I don’t need.  Who cares, I can peel a bushel of apples in five minutes or less.  No scraped knuckles, no pruny fingers.  I give.

7 Comments

  1. i’m sure all those apple you are using in your
    receipe’s will taste great, but…where did
    all your links that were listed next to your
    glog entry go to? between you and paula i spend
    some time at work reading some things i would
    have never found…please bring them back 🙂

    Reply

  2. I, too, was lured into the L-N-T “clearance” sale, but marched out at their paltry 10% off. Feh. They’ll come crawling back in a few weeks – then we’ll get’em!

    Reply

  3. Hi Tina- I’m not sure what links you’re talking about. The links to blogs I read? I just checked and they’re all there, just further down the page.

    If you still can’t see them try refreshing and see if that works.

    I checked it in Firefox and Safari and it looks fine. Anyone out there reading in IE who can verify that they see the links?

    Reply

  4. Lisa – the links in your entry are there, but all of your dashboard links are gone. (Links to Etsy, links to Flickr, links to Optimistic Diva…) you know, the important stuff. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I don’t get it. I see them, they’re right there. Optimistic Diva and all. I’ve refreshed, cleared my cache, they’re still there. Diva- are you using IE?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

