All About Apples

Remember last week when I went apple-picking?

Well after sharing and eating a good portion of the 10lbs of Macouns the boys harvested, I took about a dozen of them and made a batch of apple butter in the crock pot.  It was super simple and twelve apples made four delicious quart-sized jars of thick, irresistable apple butter overnight.  I put them in the fridge and waited for the weekend when I planned to spread it on waffles and die happy.

We had friends over on Saturday and Luke was so proud that I had made something as lovely-sounding as apple butter (since he hadn’t actually tasted it yet) that he asked me if we could give away two jars to our friends.  Figuring that Luke wouldn’t even like it and I’d be eating the other jars myself, I said sure.  Well then Sunday came, and along with it came pumpkin waffles with apple butter and a new apple butter lover: Luke.  Honestly, it was delicious and if he hadn’t liked it, I would have thought that there was something wrong with him.  We gave our last jar to our neighbor (again, Luke’s idea) and that left us with one half empty jar of apple butter and painful sadness at the thought that it was almost gone!

Then we went to the Farmers’ Market.  (And if I could go off on a slight tangent here, I was so sad yesterday walking around the rainy, muddy market thinking it was the last of the season and how I would miss it so much, only to discover that I was WRONG!  Yay!  Sometimes I love being wrong.  I still have four weeks of Farmers’ Market happiness to enjoy.)  Anyhow, at the market we found a giant basket of ugly apples marked “junk apples” for only $5.  More apple butter would be appearing in my future.

Last night I spent almost two hours peeling, coring, slicing, and seasoning about 40 apples into two crock pots.  My skin was wrinkly from all the apple juice, but it was so worth it.  This morning the house smelled like apples and tonight I’ll be canning apple butter and hoarding it all for myself.

OK, that’s not true.  I promise I’ll share, but I’m going to make sure we have enough apple butter to last us at least until next weekend.

If you’re looking confused, wondering what in the world apple butter is, you must try making some yourself.  It’s like thick, concentrated apple sauce and if you have a crock pot (and an apple peeler-corer-slicer, man I wished I had one of those last night) it’s so easy to make.  There are recipes all over the Internet, here’s a very simple one.

My recipe was a loose combination of all the recipes I read through.  I made a mixture of white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a bit of Chinese Five Spice seasoning.  Then I layered the sliced apples, sprinkling the sugar mixture on each layer.  I put the crockpot on warm overnight (about 12 hours).  Then switched it to high and left it while I went to work (about another 12 hours).  Then I took the lid off and stirred in a bit of orange juice and blended it smooth with my handy immersion blender.  From there it went directly into the jars, and some directly into my mouth, and that’s it.  So simple and so delicious.  Make some tonight!

7 Comments

  1. I have never made apple butter, but these photos inspire me! Sadly, I have also never canned a thing in my life, so I would need a crash-course on that . . . but perhaps I could make it for immediate consumption! (How long could it last, anyhow?!) Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. I would like to remind you that you have a friend who just had a birthday who you will be seeing on Friday. Also, she loves apples, and has never had apple butter.

    Reply

  3. Erin- I have never canned before either! This is fake canning. Although I put the butter in the jars, I didn’t boil them and do all the proper stuff, I just put them in the fridge where they’re supposed to last for a month (if you don’t eat them by then).

    Amanda- thank you for the very subtle reminder. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

