I’m going barefoot.

Hours spent over the last two days shopping for shoes: 6

Fun had and shoes purchased: 0 and 0

One time I went shopping with my sister at NY & Co., her favorite store.  We spent a good hour there shopping around, trying things on, and I found a top I thought I might like but the price was $17.99.  I hemmed and I hawed and I finally put it back deciding that $17.99 was too much to spend on a top.  We left there and went to Williams Sonoma where I fell in love with, and purchased a colander for $18.  This explains a lot about me.

I don’t like to spend money on clothes, which you may have guessed by looking at me.  On any given day I’m probably wearing something given to me by my mom, handed down from my sister, or purchased at the Salvation Army, Wal-Mart, or on a good day, Marshall’s.  Right now I’m wearing my favorite after-work outfit: a tank top from Wal-Mart and a pair of yoga pants I bought a million years ago at TJ Maxx.  I’m cheap.  Well, at least when it comes to clothing I am.

We have a wedding to go to in a week.  I’ve known about it for… two years, maybe?  I bought a dress months ago (at Marshall’s for $19.99) and now I need shoes.  The dress is cute, an I Love Lucy, vacuuming in high heels, June Clever, 50’s-style dress.  It’s adorable, I love the cut, and it has a funky little print to it.  A fun, retro-type dress needs specific shoes, right?  But what kind of shoes?  This is my problem.  Well that, and the fact that I’ve probably spent $40 this entire year on shoes (two pairs of Teva flip-flops, that’s about $40).

There is a bit of dark brown in the print of the dress so I’ve been looking for brown shoes.  I like a little heel, maybe a peep toe, maybe a round toe… beyond that I’m lost.  I also have the problem of owning feet that aren’t used to being in shoes, let alone GIRLY shoes so everything is uncomfortable and if you’re going to make me pay money, a lot of money, on a pair of shoes, I think they should at least not cause me to bleed.

I spent forever in Marshall’s yesterday, found a pair that were OK, but for $40 they should be more than OK.  I went to DSW, tried on every shoe in the store, liked a pair that were $120 but 1.) they wouldn’t have gone with the dress (I just tried them on because I liked them), and 2.) $120!!?!  Went back to Marshall’s thinking I might like the OK pair more now.  I liked them less.  Today I spent another eternity in another Marshall’s and left empty-handed.  I went to Burling Coat Factory and left with a pair of earrings.  I even went to Payless.  Remember, me = cheap.

What am I going to do?  I want a cute, sort of sexy, semi-sensible pair of size-9ish dress shoes that don’t cost a fortune, won’t cause bodily harm, and that I could wear again to work.  Also, they should go with my dress.  Should I suck it up and go to a proper shoe store?  What is a proper shoe store?  Macy’s?  Share with me you’re shoe shopping wisdom (unless you’re Paula and have teeny, skinny feet that never fit into any of the shoes you like).  I want to success stories.  Inspire me ladies!  I’ve only got a week and I don’t think my Tevas are going to go all that well with my dress.

4 Comments

  1. I wish I had some advice… I’ve recently become a “shoe person” but I’ve been scoring all of my deals on ebay lately.

    Maybe try Kohl’s or Target too?

    Reply

  2. Ok – you needed to post a picture of the dress! I can send you my size 9 peep toe heels that are a fall-ish red and you can see if you like them. Also, I highly recommend piperlime.com and zappos.com.

    I can do more work for you if you show me a picture of the dress! Also, I know you have it, but go to a department store. It’s Labor Day weekend and things will be on sale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

