When Life Gives You Lemons, Make a Tote Bag. Or something like that…

Well, it’s not what I planned to make.

I should never have written down my to-do list because I’m much too scatter-brained to stick to any one idea.  I set out to make the painted fabric wall hanging that Martha had on her Craft of the Day to hang in my hallway.  I, of course, cannot follow directions to save my life, so decided to do it differently.

I made a stencil out of freezer paper and painted this leaf thing on some gorgeous batik fabric.  I pulled the freezer paper off and finished painting it freehand.  Then I stretched the fabric over a wooden frame, stapled it, hung it on the wall in the hallway, went to bed, and woke up the next day hating it.   It wasn’t right, the frame was too big, the color of the fabric against my purple walls looked too matchy, something wasn’t right.

So I did what any normal person would do, I cut it off the frame and made a tote bag out of it.

Now I love it.  It’s big enough to fit a hardcover book, a water bottle and my little purse.  The straps are nice and long and they stay on my sad little shoulders.  And I had fun with the fabric painting, I might make a few more hand painted tote bags for the shop.  What do you think?

PS: Check out the cute bistro set my sister bought us for our deck (in the first picture). Who has the best sister ever?  That’s right, ME!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

