The Halfway Point

It took Luke about two weeks to get rid of this nasty cold, and I’ve only just reached the one week mark. Most of the time I feel all right, but sometimes, like right now, I’d like to just jam a pen in my eye and be done with this constant pressure in my head and the annoying cough, and the feeling tired all the time… ug. When did I get so old?

Yesterday I managed to feel normal most of the day and even made a trip to the farmers’ market in Coventry. If you live in the area, you really should go. It has the feeling of a fair with demonstrations and activities and freshly made kettle corn. There are dogs and farm animals and more beautiful produce than you could shake a freshly picked carrot at. I bought lettuce, zucchini, rhubarb, tomatoes, and even some early local corn. I would have stayed longer and probably bought more, but it was about a billion degrees out by 11:30 and I was more interested in swimming in the river than wandering around a field in the sun. I went home and we played with the dogs in the water for a while, then made a salad with my fresh farmers’ market goods.

I had planned to make strawberry rhubarb pie when Luke went to bed but several factors, including the fact that I ate most of the strawberries before they could even meet the rhubarb, stopped the pie-making process in its tracks. I was feeling pretty lousy last night and didn’t want to do anything. I laid on the couch and watched a movie, which isn’t a good thing right now. I have to make a camouflage cake for Cameron’s birthday party this Friday, a dish for Paula’s birthday party Saturday, and my famous Jell-o shots for Amanda’s party, PLUS I have birthday presents to make, buy, and wrap. Phew, I better go buy more cold medicine.

2 Comments

  1. Aren’t summer colds the worst? Ugh, I totally feel your pain. I hope you feel better soon, especially by Friday!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

