Failed, AGAIN.

This has not been my week. It started when I made a lasagna and realized, as I began to assemble it, that I forgot to buy mozzarella. Next I took the doorknob off of the danger door so I could paint it and not only did the paint come out looking like crap, I now can’t figure out how to get the knob back on. Then I cut out fabric to make two new tote bags, only to realize too late that I cut them out the wrong size. Sigh… This should have been a sign. But no, I continued to try new things and, of course, screw them up.

I’ve had this idea in my head for a dessert that I wanted to make. It’s based off of a candy-type thing a friend of my sister’s makes with crushed Oreos mixed with cream cheese and dipped in chocolate. They’re frighteningly good and we call them Becky Balls. I was wondering if I could combine other cookies with other cream cheesy things to make different varieties of Becky Balls and I decided to try making s’mores balls with graham cracker crumbs and marshmallow fluff. Sounds good, doesn’t it?

Then I saw these adorable cupcake pops from Bakerella and fireworks went off in my head. What if I put s’mores Becky Balls onto lollipop sticks?! How cute would that be? In my head it was cute. In real life, not so much.

I mixed one sleeve of crushed graham crackers with 4oz. of softened cream cheese and about a cup of Fluff. Then I rolled them into sticky little balls and put them in the fridge where Luke saw them and asked, “are those meatballs?” No. After they chilled and firmed up, I put them on sticks and dipped them in melted chocolate. My hopes were high, I mean, see how fun they look? And I just know they’re going to taste good. Chocolate, graham crackers, cream cheese, and Fluff? Yum.

Yum? Yes. Success? No. After the third pop was being dipped, I heard a “thunk” on the counter and saw that the first pop I dipped had fallen off the stick and hit the counter in a sticky mess. Crap. Maybe I pushed the stick in too far. I tried a few more. “thunk” “thunk” “thunk”. GAH! OK, maybe the chocolate is too warm and the Fluff is melting. I stirred the melted chocolate to cool it off a little and I put the other balls I made onto sticks. Those were the same graham crackers and 4oz. cream cheese with a cup of peanut butter. Mmmm… I dipped two peanut butter pops and watched as they both broke in half and slid down the sticks in slow motion.

So disappointing. The sticks are obviously not working for these so I decided to salvage what was left and make them candies instead of pops. Oh well. They’re still yummy, just not as cute. And the s’mores ones – they’re fantastic. Better than the peanut butter ones, if you can believe that.

Maybe I’ll take the weekend off from trying new things and start over again next week. My luck, I’ll set something on fire or stitch myself to the sewing machine table next.

3 Comments

  1. Still look yummy! 🙂 I hate those days of frustrating creativity. I had a similar one the other day all revolving around sewing oven mitts. I now own a couple of wonky ones with really obtrusive thumbs.

    Reply

  2. Maybe try making the fun gooey part the base and have a stick coming out of the top? Then you can put a label or a flag on top of the stick to label what flavor it is.

    Did that just even come out of my mouth!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

