Playing with Fabric Again

It seems like I’ve been working on the house and painting the walls so much lately, I haven’t been doing anything artsy-crafty in my studio lately. I keep buying fabric for projects-to-be not making anything out of it. Well, I’m happy to report that the craft drought ended this week.

I have been looking for buttons to spiff up the wool coat I found at the Salvation Army for $7. I love the coat but the old fashioned buttons on it were falling off and worn out. Since it’s a peacoat, there are 12 buttons to replace and the only buttons I liked were $2 each – yikes. If I’m cheap enough to buy a used coat for $7, am I really going to spend $24 to replace the buttons? The answer is no.

I have a set of three gorgeous embroidered buttons that my friend Karen made hanging on the wall in my studio because they’re too pretty for me to decide what to do with them. I was looking at them the other night while I was ironing and I was suddenly inspired. I remembered Karen telling me how she made them with a button cover kit, so I went to Jo-Ann Fabric and found a kit of my own. Monday night I sat for an hour watching Dancing with the Stars and making my new coat buttons. How fun -and easy! I can’t wait to make new buttons for everything in my house.

Then last night after screwing up everything else I had tried to make – including dinner – I decided to try out another tool I bought at Jo-Ann’s: my new bias tape maker. I’m in love. I didn’t even know that there was such a thing or how much I needed one until I got this book for Christmas and I was enlightened. What a cool tool. No more folding and ironing tiny strips of fabric and inevitably burning my fingers. Now my bias tape maker does all the work. See what it made last night?

The bias tape maker folds the fabric perfectly so I can iron it into neat little strips of bias tape which I put back-to-back to make Miss Molly a pretty new collar. It’s even reversible. The back has a contrasting fabric which I also used to make a loop to hang Molly’s ID tags. I tried to get a picture of it, but a certain sleepy dog wasn’t cooperating and all I got was a fluffy ear instead.

Making her collar was so easy and I really love the way it came out. I’m thinking I might make some more and put them in my Etsy shop. Oh! Maybe I could make dog collars with covered buttons. How perfect would that be?

Leave a Reply

