Bits and Things

I got home from work early enough last night to go for a walk by the river with Molly and still catch the 5:00 rerun of Gilmore Girls. I really miss Gilmore Girls. It’s like my friends have moved away and haven’t written. Does that make me pathetic? TV people are like friends to me? Maybe so, but I sill miss Lorelai and Luke. And especially Logan. Oddly enough I’ve seen Luke and Kirk as characters on different WB shows, and Sookie is on Samantha Who? but that’s all wrong. They all should just go back to Stars Hollow and make me happy. OK, enough about that. Time to make some real-life friends.

Did you see the eclipse last night? It was very cool. Luke’s telescope was in the basement and I’m far too clumsy to be trusted with moving it outside so I looked at the moon with binoculars. It was beautiful. I know you could see it with the naked eye, but with binoculars you could see more detail, and color, and plus I’m nearsighted so any help I can get is appreciated.

I finished our taxes last night and I have to say, Turbo Tax is very cool. It’s written so well and calmly, like they hired phone operators from the suicide line at the crisis center to help write it. It’s all very much filled with the “don’t worry, we’ll get through it, let me walk you through it step-by-step” kind of reassurances that I need. Doing taxes scares the crap out of me, not because I think I’ll do it wrong, I have wise Turbo Tax on my side after all, what scares me is the thought of owing the IRS. One year right after we got married we did owe, BIG time. I can’t handle that again. All of the personal financial analysis unnerves me, too. Did I donate enough to charity this year? Probably not. Did I contribute to my IRA? No. Should I have more taken out of my pay to go into my 401K? Most definitely. This year, too, I officially downgraded my business from a Schedule C-requiring business to a hobby. I hate that word. Hobby. Ick. But I’ve been making more things for fun and less for profit over the past couple of years and making a $200 annual profit after deducting expenses doesn’t exactly make it a business. Oh well, I’m a “hobbyist” with big ideas.

I dropped off a giant bag of clothes and things to the salvation Army the other day and took home this little goblet. Chalice? Candy dish? Whatever it is is fell into my recent obsession with white glass and only cost $1.49. I think that’s a good ration to keep: bring giant bag in, take small cup out.  I also bought a small white hobnail glass footed bowl (could there be more words to describe that?) on Saturday at the antique store when I bought the Drink Spikes.  That one was a whole $4.  Big spender, huh?

I saw Across the Universe last night.  I’m not sure what I think about it other than everyone in the movie reminded me of someone else, and not the Beatles, just someone else.  Lucy looked like Jenny from Forest Gump, Max looked like the blond hobbit who’s on Lost, it was all very distracting.  I loved that it was very much like Moulin Rouge with the different musical arrangements (the slow version of “I Want to Hold Your Hand” sung by Prudence was absolutely gorgeous, and that reminds me I wanted to look for it in iTunes), but then it started to resemble The Wall and that just bored me.  It followed the late-60’s style of movie-making where the story is going along well and then the scene jumps to a dim and smoky jazz club for a 20-minute musical interlude with trippy animation.  But then again, perhaps they made it that way on purpose.  Watch it yourself and tell me what you think.

It’s going to snow again tomorrow.  This snow thing has lost its charm.  I’m ready for spring.  My friend Dan from Florida sent out pictures yesterday of a recent trip to Disney with his wife and daughter and they were all wearing shorts and sandals.  That made me painfully sad.  Let’s all look at last night’s sunset and think happy thoughts of warm weather.

One Comment

  1. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who is terrified of owing the IRS every year when I do our taxes! All it takes is one year of owing them to make you get all jittery at tax time. We use Turbo Tax too and it definitely eases a bit of my tax-time-tension!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

