Maybe Now I’ll Sleep More

Sigh… I finished Eat Pray Love yesterday during the power outage. It was bittersweet. It’s always bittersweet when you finish a good book. I desperately wanted to finish it while I was reading so I could see what happened, but now that it’s over I’m so sad and I miss it. I miss Liz and Fleipe, Richard from Texas and Luca Spaghetti. I loved them all and miss them terribly. I actually started to read it all over again, but then the power came back on and in my excitement to turn on all the lights and the TV and make coffee, I put it down and haven’t picked it up again.

So what is Eat Pray Love, you ask? It’s a fantastic book by Elizabeth Gilbert and if you weren’t one of my friends who got it for Christmas from me, you should do yourself a favor and go buy it now. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Eat Pray Love follows writer Gilbert through Italy, India, and Indonesia on her search for happiness and fulfillment. After a terrible divorce and breakup, she sets off for the three countries to attempt to mend her heart, reclaim her spirituality and find joy. You are probably rolling your eyes right now, aren’t you? Well don’t. I thought the same thing “this sounds like an Oprah book”. It may well have been an Oprah book, but ignore that fact, it’s just an excellent book to read. It will make you laugh out loud, it might make you cry, and I guarantee it will make you want to visit Bali.

There’s a neat explanation in the beginning of the book about how it’s structured. The story is broken into 108 sections, one for each bead on a set of prayer beads. There are three section (Italy, India, and Indonesia) so each section has 36 stories, like short chapters. It’s great if you don’t have a lot of time to read, or a short attention span. Or if you’re like me and you read at night and usually only after midnight, and sometimes for only one page before falling asleep with a book on your head.

I haven’t been this smitten with a book in a long time. Probably since I read Goodnight Nobody and couldn’t wait to see who the murderer was. I couldn’t stop reading it. I read until 2am a few nights because I just didn’t want to put it down. The way Gilbert writes is so casual and conversational. It’s honest and painful and so incredibly private. You go inside her head to places of deep sadness and transcendent meditation. And then you laugh out loud because she it truly hysterical.

I tried to start a new book last night but my mind was still wrapped up in Bali and it didn’t want to leave. According to Gilbert’s website, she has three other books that I was not aware of . I might have to make my way through those, too. Now go! Buy! Enjoy!

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for the tip. I am going to get “Last American Man” for Karlo. Sounds like he would LOVE that book. He better not be reading your blog!!! Then, of course, I will read it too. I’m hooked on this author and I can’t thank you enough for the gift. Yes, I’m one of the lucky ones that got it from Lisa 🙂 I even inspired one of my friends to buy it by blogging about it. It’s like a spreading disease.

    Reply

  2. Lisa, Lisa – LOVED the book. I laughed, I cried. Loved it. I had to research her too. Looking forward to more Elizabeth Gilbert!

    Reply

  3. I am also one of the lucky ones that got it from Lisa – but I’m so backed up on my reading that I haven’t started to read it yet – however, I really think I’m meant to read this book, because three people told me I had to, and then Lisa gave it to me – it’s a sign!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

