Wicked Good Weekend

Phew!  I’m beat.  It’s been nonstop craziness since last Thursday night.  From events at work and the holiday sale, to my mom and dad’s b-day celebration, and Wicked at The Bushnell last night.  I’m exhausted.

Thanks to everyone who braved the sudden winter weather on Friday night to come out to the holiday sale.  The slippery roads kept a lot of people away, unfortunately, but there were a few die-hard shoppers who came out and we all had a great time.  If you weren’t able to make it and would like to buy some Christmas gifts, I’m hoping to update the Etsy shops this week with all the new inventory so you’ll be able to shop to your heart’s content.

Saturday we had a combined birthday celebration for my mom and dad at their house.  Their birthdays are only a few days apart and my dad doesn’t like the attention of a birthday celebration aimed directly at him, so we do a combined party each year.  Mom insisted on making dinner – a huge birthday rule breaker – but since whatever the birthday girl says goes, and she insisted she wanted to cook, technically it wasn’t breaking the rule.  I guess.  My sister made this carrot cake, which was FABULOUS. So fabulous I had it for breakfast this morning.  It has carrots in it, it must be healthy.  Right?

My grandmother, (the great-grandkids call her GG), even came out for the celebration.  in case you don’t remember, GG is ninety (can you believe it?) and horrified at the thought that her picture is on the internet, AGAIN.  Hi GG!

Then on Sunday night, I went out to see Wicked at The Bushnell with my mom, my sister, my aunt Holly, and my cousins, Mandi and Stacey.  Mom and Andrea had bought my ticket for my birthday, how nice are they?   My cousin said they got our seats in the front of the mezzanine, but I didn’t realize they got our seats in the loge!  That’s the best place in the mezzanine to see a show.  It was great and I’m glad I finally got to see it.  It’s been so long since I’ve been back to The Bushnell, it actually felt magical again.  When I worked there, the magic seemed to fade away and I didn’t feel that awe I used to feel coming to see a show.  That awe was definitely back last night and the hall looked beautiful.

So, wow.  Now it’s back to normal.  I have boring and ordinary things planned for the rest of the week – grocery shopping, keeping the wood stove going, making Christmas presents and sitting on my butt – it’s going to be hard to live up to all the excitement of this weekend.  I think I need a nap.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

