Super Unproductive, with Many Secrets

This is a picture of just a few of the things that I did not do last night. Oh the plans I had… After nearly losing it in Stop & Shop because I couldn’t find the Sloppy Joe sauce, I decided that I needed to go home, put the groceries away, and just go to bed. Seriously, I thought I could handle stress better than this, but a meltdown in Stop & Shop? That’s not what you call handling it. I went to bed at 9 and slept blissfully and deeply and now feel I like a new woman. A woman who would not cry in aisle 7, a woman who has the energy to blog!

My office/studio currently sits at the end of the hallway, next to the bedroom. The two rooms share a wall, unfortunately it is the wall the computer is on. Sleeping Luke can hear every clickity-clack of a keystroke and, oh, did I mention the squeaky floor joist? I pretty much steer clear of the office for fear of waking Luke, which is really a shame, because the point of having a studio is so you can contain the craft projects and supplies and keep them from migrating to every surface in your house. Plus, I have cool stuff in there, like the desk Luke built me for my computer and beading stuff, and an old hospital desk I rescued from the fire pit this summer.

A month or so ago, I came up with the (brilliant) idea that I needed to move my office/studio down the hall one room to the current guest bedroom, and make my current office/studio the new guest bedroom. Although Luke thinks it’s a tad crazy, he agreed to go along with my plan (this is why I love him) and so the switcheroo began on Sunday with the clearing out of the guest bedroom in preparation for paint. I liked the paint color that was there. It’s called Sweet Potato, but it’s more HOLY ORANGE! than Sweet Potato. It’s nice, I do like it, but there are some holes that need touching up and I don’t have any leftover paint, so heck, I don’t need an excuse to change colors! Let’s paint the room all over. I had gone out at lunch yesterday to run work errands, and while I was out, I stopped to buy my new paint. Let me just stop here and say, if you are painting anything in your house, suck it up and pay more to buy Benjamin Moore paint. It’s a lot more than Lowe’s or Home Depot, but the paint is amazing. We use it at work, and this week I painted a formerly white wall navy blue in one coat. Yes, one coat. Any of you out there who have painted a dark wall color and had to use a tinted primer and them applied six coats of paint, wouldn’t you have much preferred to pay and extra $20 and get it all over with in one coat? I thought so. OK, so I bought my paint. It’s called Potpourri. Can you guess what color it is? I’m not going to tell you, I’ll show you when it’s on the walls.

Last night I had planned to paint the new studio and then maybe do some other little projects, maybe make some jewelry, sew some purses, something productive. HA! I was barely able to decide if I should put the english muffins in the bread basket or in the freezer for later, I was nowhere close to being able to accomplish anything as complicated as threading a needle. So for now, all you get is a sob story and some pictures of the things I did not do. Above, the paint I did not apply, and the shiny, new bottle of Mod Podge for… well that will have to be a surprise. Below, this is a picture of the ORANGE! former guest bedroom, soon-to-be office.

And this is the contents of both rooms, currently residing in the former office, soon-to-be guest bedroom.

And the mess of a desk which will soon be organized in it’s new location in the new office.

Oh, hello spaghetti cords and disgusting mess. I think I might paint the new office tonight, provided nothing insane happens to stress me out again, and then I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the desk will move on Saturday. I can’t wait. It will be fantastic, you wait and see!

And one more sneak peek I’ll tell you about later, and something to show that I haven’t been a complete lazy slob, only maybe, I don’t know, 75% lazy slob? Lookey here… pretty!

3 Comments

  1. The earring holders are simply brilliant. Very nice!

    I won’t ruin everybody’s surprise with the color, but I know . . . I know . . . I know what the color is. Can’t wait to see it on the wall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

