Spooky

Happy Halloween!  This past weekend we proved, once again, that you’re never too old to do something silly, like carve pumpkins.  Luke, our neighbors Roland and Renee, and I got together and gutted some squash for fun.  Can you guess which is mine??  I bet you can’t…  Renee was the creative one who carved the goblin, mine is the face on the left, next to Roland’s.  Luke’s is all the way to the right.  Here’s what they look like lit.

Ohhh… spOOOoooky!

At home today I’m living my own spooky scene out of The Birds, only for me, it’s The Flies.  Luke is on vacation this week, and all day yesterday while I was at work, he was working outside with the doors open.  The house is now FILLED with flies.  I went downstairs this morning to start the wood stove and spent half and hour killing flies like a maniac.  I came upstairs and killed a few more in the kitchen.  I went into the bathroom and killed a bunch more there.  As I type, there’s one soon-to-be-dead fly who keeps skimming the top of my head.  It’s disgusting and I don’t know what I want to do more, whack flies, or smack Luke with the fly-swatter for letting them in.  For someone who normally “wouldn’t hurt a fly” I’m feeling a bit violent today.  HA!  I got him.  No more tickling my hair, you sucker!  Anyhow, I’m heading out in a bit to go see my nephews in their costumes.  I can’t wait.  Melt-your-heart cute pictures to follow shortly.  Happy trick-or-treating to everyone!

One Comment

  1. Those are very cool- the pumpkins we get in New Zealand are too hard to carve and we look with envy at your big squash! Those are really fun. Nice work!
    cheers Fifi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

