Townie

I love small towns, especially fictional small towns.  Redbud from Funny Farm, Stars Hollow from Gilmore Girls, even Mitford and Elmwood Springs.  I love that everyone knows each other and everyone is so involved in the goings-on of the town.  They’re always so small and cozy, it makes me long to live in a town like that.  But when I stop and think about it, I realize that I do live in a town like that.  Have you visited Andover?  We are a town of less than 3,000 residents.  We have no bank, no police station, no large businesses (except for a recent Dunkin Donuts/gas station monstrosity built on the outskirts of town).  One of our town selectmen is also the dog warden and the manager of the town’s transfer station.  We have characters, we have charm, but sitting in my house and not going out and meeting anyone in town isn’t exactly bringing out the Stars Hollow in Andover to me.  After living here for almost nine years, I decided it was time to go forth and meet my neighbors.  Yesterday I tentatively joined the town’s website committee.  The town has a cute little website: www.andoverct.org, and they announced in the town newsletter that they were looking for new members to join the committee and help update the site.  My urge to help won out over my fear of committees and this Monday night I’m going to go to my first meeting.   Maybe soon the Andover town website will also be the Artsy Fartsy Andover town website.  Who knows?  Maybe soon I’ll be attending the town meetings and joining in the knit-a-thon to save the Muddy River Bridge – oh wait, wrong small town.

2 Comments

  1. Dont forget!

    Website Committee Meeting
    Website Committee meeting will be held at the Andover Elementary School Library – School Road on Monday, November 26 at 7:00 P.M.
    11/26/2007
    Starts at 7:00pm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

