The Healing Power of Crafts

Despite the fact that work was so chaotic, I forgot to take lunch, survived on coffee from the K-Cup machine all day, and stayed two hours late, I still managed to fall asleep last night feeling happy. You know why? Because I made stuff.

After work, I had no energy for anything and was going to flop on the couch and watch some mindless TV, but my Netflix movies haven’t come in yet this week and nothing looked good on TV, so I sorted through my box of fabric to see if I had anything inspiring in there there I didn’t know about. I found two sets of purse-makings completely cut, ironed, matched with interfacing and coordinating zippers, so I thought what the heck. I might as well sew one together. I put on Dancing with the Stars (the results show) even though my sister told me I can’t watch DWTS if all I’m going to watch is the results show, but whatever. I watched the results show, set up the sewing machine and away I went.

Now you may remember that I was doubting the enjoyability of sewing not long ago. These cute little purses I’ve been making have been taking me two hours each to make, plus countless finger stabs, seam ripping, and under-breath grumbling. Miraculously last night, I manged to put two purses together perfectly (with only minor grumbling) in an hour and a half. It’s a Halloween miracle! I was so happy, I considered staying up after Luke left for work to make another purse. Instead, I quit while I was ahead and went to bed feeling happy and not thinking about the stressful day behind me or the stressful day ahead. Ahh… the healing power of crafts.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

