Adventures in Cableing

A big, cable-knitted thank you to Christine for recommending the site KnittingHelp.com to me. What a difference! KnittingHelp is great because it’s loaded with information and, best of all, videos of techniques from basic to advanced. The videos are filmed from the point of view of the knitter, so you can easily see how the yarn and needles should look from your point of view. I think it might even be easier to learn to knit from KnittingHelp than it would be from a friend. After all, you can’t really sit in your friend’s lap and see how she’s knitting from her perspective. Well maybe you could, but all of my friends are too tiny to have me sit on their laps.

I learned new ways to cast on, and then I found a supposedly “easy” pattern for a cable knit scarf and went to find the video on making cables. Look! I’m doing it! It really is easy. The first row of cables have a few big holes where I didn’t pull my stitches tight enough, but who cares? I’m making cables! I loaned out my nice #8 circular needles to a friend who wanted to learn to knit, so rather than taking another trip to Jo-Ann Fabric to get a new set, I used my double-pointed needles. A little risky, kind of easy to loose my stitches off the end, but cheaper. Now I can spend that money on more yarn instead of another set of needles. Actually, I think I want to get a stitch counter. With cables, you really need to keep track of your rows, and I keep forgetting how many rows I’ve done and I’m tired of recounting.

So, let’s see, two nights of knitting=six inches of scarf. I would like a long scarf, maybe 60 inches. 60 inches divided by two nights of knitting=two more weeks until I finish! So next time you’re at a farmers’ market or craft fair and see a handmade scarf for $40, understand that you’re getting good deal. Ten days worth of work for $40? This is why I only knit for fun.

2 Comments

  1. Oh yay! I’m so glad that the site was helpful.

    Your cables look great, and the color you’re using is very pretty! My current cable project has a glaring mistake and as much as I loathe ripping back I’ll probably have to.

    As far as knitting with your dpns, if you’ve got some tip protectors you can jam ’em on the ends so your stitches won’t fall off. Oh, and until you can get a row counter, you can just do hatch marks on a piece of paper…works for me when my cat winds up with my counter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

