Huh…

You know what I realized last night? I do not enjoy sewing. Sometimes I hate it. I like the idea of sewing, but the actual practice makes me antsy and angry. I’m sure it all has to do with the fact that I’m self-taught and sometimes I’m a really crappy teacher. I just don’t have the patience to take a class and listen to something I already know, like the basics of how to thread a bobbin and change stitches and simple little things like that. I would like to be better, though. What I want is a tutor. Someone to watch what I’m doing, appreciate what I already know, and tell me what I’m doing wrong.

I’d like the same fairy craft mother to come and help with my knitting, too. There are things I know and can do well, but there’s a whole heck of a lot that I can’t do. Like read a pattern. I knitted about six inches of that pretty green scarf last night, looked at what I had done, and ripped it back to nothing. I started again, and unraveled it again. I do thin every time I start knitting something new. I want something different, some fun, new stitch, but all I know is knit and purl. I looked at a knitting project book I borrowed from my mom but there were strange abbreviations like K1B. Wha? I looked in the back of the book to see what that was and it said “knit one stitch through the back loop”. Like I said, wha? I know I should just suck it up and go to a class, but I prefer to just sit here and complain.

I did manage to make another little purse last night. A brown polka dot and stripe one. Very cute. It took me all night because I kept getting frustrated and leaving the table to do something else, like knit. Then I’d get frustrated with my knitting, leave that, and go sew. Crafting shouldn’t be this frustrating. Maybe I should just stick to beads and paint.

2 Comments

  1. I know exactly what you mean! I know the basics of a LOT of crafts, but I need a little fine tuning. I can’t bring myself to pay $30 or more for a class where I know 90% of the content.

    If you haven’t checked it out, try http://www.knittinghelp.com/ The videos there are very helpful and I learned how to knit through the back loop there 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

