Up Close and Crafty

I wish I could say that this will be the last time I whine about my camera, but it probably won’t. I’m trying to get a new one, I swear. I bid on three different ones on ebay; I even lost one yesterday with only 5 seconds to go! I’m just about frustrated enough, but just not wealthy enough to go pay full price somewhere. I was planning to tell you what I’ve been working on lately. If only you could stand back a bit and see it all…

Here are three little purses I’ve made recently. Trust me, they’re cute. My zoom was just a little too zoomey and the darn flash was on. Man, I wish I had a new camera. The purse on the bottom right is made from a sundress I bought this year. I only managed to wear it once before Luke said to me, “I’m sorry, but that dress is HORRIBLE. It’s like a big sack! It makes you look HUGE”. I wanted to set it on fire after that, but the print was so pretty I thought I’d repurpose it. Voila! Now, said hideous sack dress is a pretty purse. The one on the bottom left has straps that I cut off of this shirt after I bought it because I thought they were unnecessary. All three purses, and hopefully more, will soon be available in my Etsy shop.

I also started knitting last night. I blame it on this weather. There’s a nip in the air, Starbucks has pumpkin spice lattes, the red and yellow leaves from my maple trees are all over the driveway, and I made butternut bisque on Monday. All signs pointing me to plant myself on the couch and knit something. I have a basket full of beautiful yarn that has been calling to me all summer, but that last thing I want to do when it’s hot is sit with a ball of wool in my lap. Last night I started to make myself a scarf with this gorgeous green Merino blend wool yarn. I was trying to show you my pattern and not the ball of yarn, which is so much prettier than it appears in this picture, but you know, the camera, bla bla bla…

So that’s about it. Tonight I hope to make another purse and hopefully knit some more. This weekend it’s supposed to get down near 30 in the evening! We may have to light the wood stove – yikes!

One Comment

  1. Hello Lisa! Thank you for visiting my blog and adding it to your blogroll! I love reading your blog, you are so creative and all of your work is beautiful! I hope you are able to get a new camera soon! I know how it is without one…it nearly drove me crazy the last time mine was broken! I found out about your blog from Keith, he said I should check you out and I’m so glad I did! Thank You!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

