Alex’s Clifford Birthday

Yesterday was Alex’s second birthday and, as I mentioned before, I was in charge of the cake. I was planning to make a yummy sheet cake recipe I had and then draw Clifford the Big Red Dog on it with icing. Here’s how it went down:

This is the “before” – the naked Texas Sheet Cake.

Cake (before)

Here’s the “during”…

p1000629.jpg

And here’s the “after”. I had planned to use black icing to make the outlines, but I forgot to buy it. Oops. So I had to pick the brown sprinkles from a container of rainbow sprinkles. My sister thought I was showing off, I was just trying to fix my screw-up!

cake (after)

And here’s the birthday boy enjoying his second piece. I caught him sliiiiding it ever so gently off the table. Sneaky little thing.

Alex with Cake

Happy birthday little man!

4 Comments

  1. I love Clifford! I am impressed with the brown-sprinkle-outline. If I had done such a thing, the result would have looked more like a Quentin Tarantino movie than a kids birthday cake.

    Reply

  2. Wow, amazing job on the cake decorating. I’m still struggling with figuring out how to bake a cake, let alone decorate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

