So…Happy Feet…

Have you seen Happy Feet? That animated movie that was advertised all over several months ago and looked like a sweet story of a penguin who couldn’t sing and loved to dance? Well I watched it last night. I’m a little speechless.

Monday night, I watched my nephews for a bit while my sister was taking a belly-dancing class and my brother-in-law was at school. The movie they were planning to watch for their 30-minute TV time before bed was Happy Feet. In the 30-minutes we saw of the beginning, there were about 75 questions out of Cameron’s mouth. Why were they doing that and is that baby dead and why are they trying to eat him and who are the leopard seals and why are those birds swimming… that part alone was exhausting.

And frankly I don’t think I would have wanted my kids (if I had kids) to see this movie, and I’m not that kind of a person. I finished watching it last night. The music was great, don’t get me wrong, but the movie opens with the penguins singing “Let’s Talk about Sex” and “Kiss”, that Prince song with lyrics like, “You don’t have to be beautiful, to turn me on. I just need your body baby, from dusk till dawn.” Seriously! Now, those are two songs I really like, in fact I was thinking of going on iTunes and buy some Prince music, but try explaining why a penguin needs another penguin’s body to a 4-year old.

Then after the suggestive singing, there was the bizarre plot twist of Mumble going off to find the “aliens” (humans) to try to save the penguin wold, ending up in a zoo, becoming incredibly depressed and hallucinating, and then being released back to the Antarctic so the humans, oh sorry, aliens could follow him and find the rest of the penguins. Huh?

I guess I enjoyed it. The baby penguins were adorable, I loved the Grand Master Flash baby, and the little pack of Robin Williams Adelie penguins were hilarious, but I was surprised at the rest of the movie. It wasn’t awful, it just wasn’t the sappy-sweet cartoon I thought I was going to be based on the commercials. I’m still not sure what I think. So how about you? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

