Stuff and Things

I’d say it was about time to get rid of those St. Paddy’s Day photos, right?  But really I have nothing coherent to say, so how about I just list off some things I have been enjoying lately?  Sort of a highlight reel of other potential candidates for What I Love.

Planting Chickens in the Garden – oh, just kidding. You knew I had to mention the chickens at some point.  I mean, it’s been at least two posts since I talked about them.  This, here, is a typical weekend scene.  The ladies all get to free-range on the weekends when we’re home all day and they’re particularly fond of taking dust baths around the Zebra grass in my garden bed.  They crack me up.

OK, now let’s get serious…

Nice Things Now – a new website from the always lovely Leah of A Girl and a Boy fame.  From the website’s About page, Nice Things Now “…is a place to find inspiration and share ideas on simple ways to make the world a nicer place.”  And that it is.  Lovely, quick posts, beautiful photos, and simple stories to lift your heart.

The Most Awesome Headphones Ever – after hula hooping with my iPod Vetrapped to my upper arm and with my earbud cord tucked into my bra for far too long, I finally bought a set of wireless, Bluetooth headphones, and let me tell you, they are the best things ever.  For less than $35, the Motorola S305 Bluetooth Stereo Headset has changed my life. Seriously.  As you may know, I live in the ssshhhhhhh! home of a third shift-working spouse where I do everything in my power to keep quiet at night while he sleeps. Now, I can put on my headphones, turn on some music or listen to podcasts on my iPod, and walk around the house without cords.  They’re comfy, they stay on securely while I run on the treadmill, and I can skip tracks with the easy control buttons on the headset.  And as an unexpected bonus: they have an amazing range. I usually leave my iPod on the kitchen counter, and I can walk all over the house, even halfway to the chicken coop without losing the signal. These things rock.

Spilled Milk - speaking of podcasts, it seems that everyone I know has never heard of, or at least never listened to a podcast.  I find this sad.  There are so many wonderful ones out there and most of them are free!  One that I have been enjoying a whole lot lately is Spilled Milk featuring Molly Wizenberg (of Orangette) and Matthew Amster-Burton.  As they say, “Spilled Milk is the show where we cook something, eat it all, and you can’t have any.”  It’s a show about cooking and more importantly, about eating.  Matthew and Molly are hilarious, it’s obvious that they love what they’re doing, and their enthusiasm is contagious.  I challenge you to listen and not laugh.

Not Martha - a wonderful website I have lurked about without commenting on for far too long.  Megan is funny and creative and talented and I swear, everyday I either bookmark a link she’s mentioned, or add something to my Amazon Wishlist from her posts and suggestions.  She’s brilliant!  I mean, check out this cake! And these dahlia brooches (I have to make one of these).  Last week she linked to this post from The Ugly Green Chair about online eyeglass shopping which led me to buy two pairs of glasses from Goggles4U.  Today I bookmarked a tutorial she mentioned last week about making yoga pants from an old t-shirt.  This woman is my crafty, clever, fancy-baking, online hero and I’d like to believe that if I lived in Seattle, too, we could be friends.

Great things, am I right?  So tell me, what have you been loving lately?

One thought on “Stuff and Things

Leave a Reply

